What Helps You Face Fears? Getting Back on the Bike…

I’ve been a stranger (again), but my semester is unofficially over at 7pm tonight and I’ll be on the downhill swing of graduate school. Dear God I never thought I’d be able to say those words.

Today I come to all of you loyal readers–family, friends, fitness enthusiasts–looking for a bit of advice.

Image

About a month and a half or so ago, I went to the gym for a Tuesday night spin class. I set up my bike (the same bike I ride pretty much every class unless it’s already taken), had someone clip in my shoes, and was on my way. Twenty minutes or so into the ride, I noticed my calf was tensing up pretty bad, and eventually my whole leg was so tense I could barely complete a revolution of the pedal. This obviously scared the you-know-what out of me and, not being as comfortable explaining the situation to this particular instructor, I decided to get off the bike. Some of the tension eased once I was off the bike, but it stayed abnormal feeling until the next day. Two weeks later, same thing happened again.  This time I forced myself to fight through and stay on the bike.

Since I couldn’t figure this one out on my own, I went to my PT and asked if he had any ideas.  A few things came to mind: I have generally tight/immobile ankles so if my feet are too pointed it might cause cramping (Solution: try to stretch them more); I might need new shoes because mine are 7 years old and pretty well worn (Solution: bought these); or maybe it’s a bike adjustment issue (Fitness Friends: could this be, when I always ride the same settings? Does my bike fit change over time?).

As you can see, I’ve been making some necessary adjustments; okay maybe I haven’t been stretching quite as much as I should, but I will. Yet I can’t get myself to get back on the bike for the life of me! Spinning was my first fitness love. It will always be my go-to for a heart-pumping, ass-kicking, stress-relieving workout. But this situation has me fearing that it’s going to happen again. I need to get back on the bike for my physical strength and, most importantly, mental sanity, but I’m struggling.

What helps you face your fears and get back on the bike? Any advice from my fellow Spinning fiends or instructors? I appreciate it!!

Photo Credit: FitnessRevolution

One thought on “What Helps You Face Fears? Getting Back on the Bike…

  1. Okay, my love, you asked for advice… so here it is. We’re ALL scared. Of something. Of everything. One of my favorite quotes is “Feel the fear and do it anyway.” It’s that simple. Do it anyway. And another one is: “Be brave. Even if you’re not, pretend to be. No one can tell the difference.” Print those out. Hang them on your wall. I’m not kidding. Do it right now. And remember that you live ONE time… What do you want your story to be? Do you want it to be “I was scared” or “I was scared but I kicked scared’s ass?” I think I already know the answer. I love you.

Leave a Reply

