Random Acts of Kindness

It’s a pretty well known assumption (I won’t say fact because I know someone will pick up on that) that we live in a society that is generally pretty self-centered on a daily basis.  Unfortunately, we are all too often in a rush to get where we need to be, to get things done, and look out for ourselves as number one.  I say generally because there are times when we, as a whole, transcend that tendency and reach our hand out to someone in need.

The past few days have been rocky here on the East Coast with the aftermath of hurricane Sandy in CT, NY, NJ, and RI.  We were fortunate enough where I am to have never lost power, but just less than an hour south of me is devastation along the shoreline.  Times like this stir up the humanitarian in all of us, the strong hearts that we all have, and the desire to help others.  I for one know I wish I could be in NY doing something to help with the cleanup efforts.  My prayers are with everyone so greatly effected.

Those times can also occur on a much smaller, more personal scale.  There doesn’t have to be a natural disaster or a devastating heartbreak of some kind.  Sometimes that helping hand comes in the form of a simple random act of kindness–and just that occurred for me this morning.

I was at the gym for my normal Saturday morning double and was doing some free weight work in the boot camp class.  Normally I sit down if we’re going to be lifting for a long period of time to preserve some energy, but I knew this wasn’t going to last long and I wanted to make the quick transition.  One small problem: the studio floor is super slippery because of the type of wood it is (I think), so the breaks on my walker wheels sometimes don’t work as well. Usually I can get by readjusting myself, but today it was not working and the walker started sliding backwards every time I’d let go to do a bicep curl…so annoying…and unsafe too I guess. 😉 All of the sudden I noticed I wasn’t sliding anymore, and looked behind me to see that one of my fellow bootcampers had positioned herself behind my wheels so that her feet could block them from sliding!!

I was so taken aback by her actions that all I could say was thanks.  Not only did they allow me to continue on with the workout, but also gave me a little extra push. I was tired, class was almost over, but knowing that someone was standing behind me, extending me a helping hand, helped me to find the energy to keep going.  We were a team, connected through her kindness, and I wasn’t going to let her down.

I don’t even know this woman’s name, and she probably doesn’t even know how big that random act of kindness was for me, but sharing this with all of you is my way of saying such huge thank you to her!

Don’t ever underestimate the power of a random act of kindness offered or a helping hand extended.

3 thoughts on “Random Acts of Kindness

Leave a Reply

