His Love through the earbuds

Today was a day filled with a whole lot of nothing. I worked from home this morning because my dad had to go into work, then I didn’t have much motivation to do anything else. I did work out a little bit this morning and plan to fit in one more later on tonight, but that’s really it. A whole lot of nothing…except thinking, which is something.

I spent far too much time YouTubing concert videos and listening to songs that I haven’t heard in a while. One of the concerts I searched was the Casting Crowns concert I attended last February with some friends from school. For those of you who don’t know, Casting Crowns is an awesome Christian band that I fell in love with the first time I heard this song. This concert was one of the most amazing musical, emotional, and spiritual experiences I have ever had (and I’m longing to experience something like it again soon)! There was something truly awe-inspiring about being in a huge, sold out concert arena where people are singing along and having their own (public) private prayer conversations the entire night, to music in its most pure form.  

The more songs I listened to, the more I started thinking. And even praying in my own way. There are phases that I go through where all I want to listen to is Christian music. I have a playlist on my iPod with something like 300 songs on it. When I get those feelings within me, I know that–for one reason or anotther–I am being reminded to come back to my faith, to take some time out, and to really think, reflect, and pray. Even when, sometimes, I might not feel like I have wandered away.

For me, the music is a beautiful portrayal of God’s love and His grace and gifts that he gives each of us. There are some songs that I might not have chosen to listen to on a particular day, but shuffle puts them right into my ears, and into my heart. Who says God doesn’t work through music? 🙂 

That’s what today’s supposed “nothingness” has reminded me. That I need to take some QT with my playlist, my journal, my Bible, and my Father; gladly.

Leave a Reply

